Indy Triple Threat !

Indy Triple Threat !

BRETT KELLY

brettkelly.net

The Scarab,Pirates:Quest For Snake Island,Attack Of The Giant Leeches,Iron Soldier• Kingdom of the Vampire • Attack of the Giant Leeches • Prey for the Beast • My Dead Girlfriend• The Bonesetter Returns • Spacemen, Go-go Girls and the Great Easter Hunt • Spacemen, Go-go Girls and the True Meaning of Christmas • The Bonesetter • The Feral Man

1) So, You kind of stay busy, Huh ?

Wow- now that I see all those titles in a row- I suppose I do. haha Actually- I think I am somewhat obsessed with movies, on top of that, I really, really want to be successful in this biz- and I always believed that with hard work, comes success- so I work really hard.

2) More FUN In Front of Camera ? Or Behind ? I

Guess its a two part question. Acting is a lot of fun, but I think I enjoy it more when I don’t have to direct at the same time. I suppose the answer would be – On my own movie- directing. On another director’s film- acting. I also love acting for the stage.

3) What is a “Brett Kelly” type ?

Hmm- you might have to ask some folk I worked with, If you mean- what am I like- I suppose; driven, light-hearted, child-like, protective, loyal. silly. I guess. If you mean- what is a Brett Kelly type of film- I guess something with imagination, hopefully a tongue in cheek attitude and some fun.

4) Financing secrets ?

Are kept from me. haha- seriously, I don’t know. A couple of my movies were work for hire, two were funds raised from investors who knew my track record, the other were beg, borrow, steal- I’m just detirmined enough to never take no for an answer.

5) Title of film first ? Or script ?

Script- definitely, except in the case of The Bonesetter, which is based on a folk tale from Quebec- that title came first. A movie with a bad script can have a cool title- I start with the cool script- then come up with the cool title. David Lloyd is currently writing a Dinosaur movie for me based on my treatment, as of this writing, there is no title.

6) One sentence descriptions:

One sentence is tough 🙂

Joe Estevez- an abolute gentleman and great conversationalist

J.R. Bookwalter- Saw the potential in me early on (thanks!)

Darrin Ramage- Never met the man- I always deal with employees of his (who are nice guys).

Jeff O’Brien- Well versed writer with a lot of ideas..

David A. Lloyd- Like me- a go-getter Canuck

Lloyd Kaufman- Amazing short-term memory

7) BEST of ‘The Breath’ Kelly On/Off set ?

-On set I feel like a ringmaster keeping the circus entertaining, extras all the way to the cast and crew- always feel important. Off set- I’m bored- haha

8) WORST of “The Breath” Kelly ?

I worry too much.

9) Licensing Or Public Domain ?

…Please explain How “Attack OTGL “ and “The Scarab” titles happened for you ?

Attack of the Giant Leeches- public domain, There was no need to license the title, I wanted to be loyal to the original, therefore felt that fans of the original had nothing to fear- we’ll see what they say. It was my statement about Hollywood remaking “classics”.

The Scarab is a somewhat different story, the character of The Scarab is public domain (his name, origin and secret identity)- but, interestingly (I hope to your readers) is that when I was 8 years old- I created my own hero called The Scarab, unaware of the Nedor Comics hero – the hero of my movie is a combination of the Golden-Age hero and my childhood creation.

10) We’re a little slow in the states, Explain “The Brett Kelly system” of filmmaking ?

I’d love to hear how some of my collaborators would answer this one- haha. Essentially, an idea comes to me; I either write it, or find someone else who may be interested in writing it. I pitch it around and then once I have a script, I look at casting, then pre-production- then I shoot the sucker. Usually I edit myself, but I’ve recently started using outside editors- so,I suppose after that- the cycle starts again. Then I pitch it around some more. What I’d really like it to do more directing for hire. Have someone give me the script that they’ve developed- and deliver a rough cut or raw footage. We’ll see I suppose.

About GUESTAR

Costarred in LAST CASE OF BEN SABIK,Victoria VanderBelt,Die-Pig-Die,Deadly Scavengers,Time Enough and Evil Ever After. Had something to do with BLOOD DRIVE,A DOVE AMONG PIGEONS,Minds Of Terror,Cannibal Cop,Boot Hill Blind Dead,Grey Skies,Blood Sisters w/Debbie D and Dust To Dust !

Leave a Reply

