DJ PERRY
Deadly Renovations
Darkest Night
1) What do you prefer to do on a set,Craft Services & The Ingenue …Don’t count ?
Ha! Actually when not shooting I do like to bring coffee around to the crew or have snacks brought to those too busy to stop work. I think when working in front of the camera I get deeply into what is next (scene-wise) and let my team run the circus. When I’m not in front of the camera I’m anticipating. By that I mean, making sure we are all set for the days that follow. I recap and set people to task or if everything is in motion – I chill. It is a beautiful thing to see a good size crew working. They are like army ants getting shit done.

2) Can one be the BOSS in film and yet take direction from others ?
Easily. Actor DJ and Producer DJ do co-exist but are very different. I only work with producer friendly directors on our own projects. I take good direction from the director and can easily transition between the two worlds. BOSS just means accountability and I think everyone I’ve ever worked with know I care and want us all to succeed. It usually always flows pretty smooth these days. I’m considered an “old hat” at this point. Wait! Is that a good term?:)

3) One Sentence Descriptions – Lana Wood – Humble Hollywood Royalty.
Terrence Knox – Center of attention and deserving.
Johnny Dark – Funny and full of great stories! 
Tom Savini – Has  had a Dick gun and can use a whip – how cool! 
Jason Carter- One wacky and crazy Brit full of talent.

4) I’m hearing stuff about you & SOCCER ?
Yes. I’ve played soccer my entire life both here in the USA and Denmark. I still play every Sunday on a Men’s League. That is old men kicking the crap out of each other to prove they still got it. This is followed by sore for the next six days before the next soccer match. Beer factors into soccer almost always and so that is another positive.

5) BEST of The DJ On/Off set ? – On set I think I set a good example of being focused, prepared and professional. Off set – I love a pool at the hotel especially if the film is action filled. Being able to stretch those aging muscles in a pool or hot tub is always a bonus and brings out a happy DJ. 

6) WORST of The DJ On/Off set ? On set – I’m allergic to stupid and/or lazy and either can bring out brutally honest DJ – which can be a worst day for that person. I respect our career path and we work hard and often for less so I see no excuse for unmotivated people. Go sit in an office job and be lazy. Off set – I’ve got a thing about coming to other countries to shoot only to find no driver with a sign – that can bring out a worst situation DJ. Nothing like hundreds of faces and no international SIM card for your cell phone.

7) Do you think type casting is Good or Bad ? Why ? I try to avoid it by doing various genres and characters BUT being good at a type can get you lots of repeat work. So I think if you play a good bad guy – play it! But also try to find those roles where you are the nerdy do-gooder once in a while. Typecast means you are working and for many actors that is good enough. 

8) Ever been to ARIZONA? I acted in and produced all the DVD extras for “Miracle at Sage Creek” a western with Universal. It was shot at Old Tuscan near Benson, AZ where I got to work with and get to know childhood icon David Carradine (From KUNG FU) and several actors I admire like Wes Studi, Irene Bedard, Marty Kove. Also “Deadly Renovations” was shot in Yuma, AZ and I really enjoyed it. I look forward to shooting in AZ again in the near future.

9) Your current film is,DEADLY RENOVATIONS,From Midnight Releasing…Any ‘Behind The Scenes’-To share with readers? I think the Hotel Del Sol where we shot was indeed filled with some past guests who were still hanging out despite being dead. The 1st night in they took us to the hotel at night. Some folks from the railroad across the road came over and asked what we were doing there. Upon hearing our plans to film they shook their heads and explained how they see “shadow folk” in the windows and on the balconies all the time. It was a Ghost Hunters dream vacation!

10) Last comments, Before you leave this interview???
David St. Hubbins: It’s such a fine line between stupid, and clever.
Thank you for having me here to answer a few questions. DJ
About GUESTAR

Costarred in LAST CASE OF BEN SABIK,Victoria VanderBelt,Die-Pig-Die,Deadly Scavengers,Time Enough and Evil Ever After. Had something to do with BLOOD DRIVE,A DOVE AMONG PIGEONS,Minds Of Terror,Cannibal Cop,Boot Hill Blind Dead,Grey Skies,Blood Sisters w/Debbie D and Dust To Dust !

Leave a Reply

